Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Quiche July 10, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 9:01 pm

Do you ever put off doing something you know is so completely easy and painless?  Like getting your eyebrows waxed.  It takes all of 10 minutes and the pain (once you’ve done it a time or two) is barely more than an annoyance.  Then once you’ve got beautiful, shapely brows you wonder why in the world you procrastinated in the first place.  Yeah, I knew you’d understand.  🙂

And that’s kind of how I feel about my quiche.  It is so easy to make, and if you arm yourself with the right ingredients it’s actually quite healthy.  Not to mention how freakin’ good it tastes.  Yet every time I buy my quiche ingredients they sit in the fridge for at least a week before I ever get around to putting them together.  Case in point:  I made the quiche pictured below about a week after buying everything.  But the second pie crust (because they always come in twos) has been sitting in my freezer for.ev.er.  Or at least it seems like it.  Every time I open the freezer the angelic cook on my shoulder says “Seriously, just make it already before that crust gets freezer burned,” and the devilish cook says, “Dude!  Have you checked out ICanHasCheezburger today?” and I’m off to laugh at stupid cats and their misspelled thoughts.  (Yes, I am that easily distracted.  Don’t tell my boss.)  It makes no sense, really.

So here are the results from my first quiche in this batch.  Do give it a try (even if it is a month from now), because this is a great way to pre-make your lunch for a week and get a good serving of veggies in, too.  Now if I can stay off PostSecret long enough to make #2…

Polly’s Quiche

1 cup of milk (2%, skim, soy, whatever)
2 eggs
2 EggBeaters equivilant to 2 eggs*
1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon of white pepper
1/4 teaspoon of salt
dash of nutmeg
6-8 oz. 2% Colby Jack Cheese, shredded
1 10 oz. (block) of frozen chopped spinach, thawed & drained
1-3 Baby Bellas (portobello) mushrooms, thinly sliced (use as many as you like)
1 Deep Dish Frozen Pie Shell (I’m digging a whole wheat version I recently found at Central Market, but Pet-Ritz is a good brand.)

Thaw and drain the frozen spinach, making sure most of the moisture is gone.  Set aside.

Preheat oven to 350F.  In a large bowl mix milk, eggs/eggbeaters and spices.  Take pie crust directly from freezer and pour cheese into bottom.  Top with drained spinach and sliced mushrooms.  Pour egg mixture over top and bake for 1-1.5 hours.  Top will be firm and set, not jiggly.

*If you’re not worrying about calories go ahead and use 4 real eggs instead of 2 & 2.  But do not use less than 2.  It just starts to taste weird once you get down to less than 2 real eggs.

 

Leave a Reply

