Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I can’t talk. May 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 3:38 pm

Well…not literally.  My voice is fine.  But apparently I can’t string together coherent sentences these days.  I’ve been writing weird stuff like “for safe measure” when I should say “for good measure”, or “he’s an obama support” instead of “supporter”.  The modifiers are being mixed all OVER the place and, in general, I sound a bit dumb.  So as a white girl who appreciates good grammar and proper sentence structure, I reserve the right to skip the witty story this time and get right to the good stuff.

The Hubby oohed and aahhed over these two Giada recipes like no one’s business.  But it’s Giada, so honestly I wasn’t that surprised.  But what did surprise me is how much I, the woman who balks at plain jane chicken breast, enjoyed the roasted chicken.  It was fantastic as is, and I imagine it would great chopped up and thrown on a salad.  Maybe even the Fish Daddies Salad.

Roasted Chicken with Balsamic Vinaigrette
Giada de Laurentiis

1/2 c. balsamic vinegar
1/4 c. fresh lemon juice
1/4 c. dijon mustard
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
1/2 c. olive oil
Chicken, cut into 6 pieces (I’m not fond of chopping up carcasses, so I used 4 large and in charge chicken breasts)
1T chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
1 tsp. grated lemon zest

In a 13x9x2″ baking dish whisk the vinegar, lemon juice, mustard, garlic, salt and pepper to blend.  Whisk in the oil.  Add the chicken pieces and turn to coat.  Cover and refrigerate, turning the chicken pieces occasionally, for at least 2 hours and up to 1 day.

Preheat the oven to 400F.  Roast the chicken uncovered until just cooked through, about 45 minutes.  Using tongs, transfer the chicken to a serving platter.  Carefully pour the cooking liquid into a small, heavy saucepan and spoon off the excess oil from atop the cooking liquid.  Boil until the liquid reduces by about half and thickens slightly, about 8 minutes.

Pour the sauce over the chicken.  Sprinkle the parsley and lemon zest over the chicken and serve. 

If the chicken gets too dark too quickly, cover it with foil, taking the foil off for the last 10 minutes of roasting.

 

2 Responses to “I can’t talk.”

  1. […] Chicken with Balsamic Vinaigrette Posted on October 13, 2008 by sweetteaintexas I have had this recipe from Polly stored in my Google Reader forever. This originally is a Giada de Laurentiis recipe. I […]

  2. Giada is great looks like you did a good job in mimicking her recipe. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

