Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’m back!! April 2, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 4:15 pm

 

Has it really been almost a whole month since my last post?  Oh man am I embarrassed.  I’ve been telling myself for, well, I guess almost 4 weeks, “Oh it hasn’t been that long…a week, maybe two at most, since I last posted.”  Geez.

 The thing is, and you can probably tell by how a tend to drone on and on about something, I really like to write.  I even went to a smarty pants conference at the University of Nebraska one summer to make me a better writer.  But sometimes I just don’t want to do it.  Something in me crosses its arms, stamps its foot and says, “Nope.  Not gonna do it.”  And I don’t.  Till I start to feel like something’s missing and then I remember, “oh yeah…I haven’t written in awhile.  I should really get back to that…” 

So here I am after an abrupt writing hiatus and I hope that I haven’t lost all 5 readers that I’d worked so hard to earn.  If 2 of you are left I’ll be tickled.  :o)  And to make amends I’m bringing you a delicious and (!!) easy recipe.  This one comes from the grand chefs at Bon Appetit. (Yes, I promise it’s easy.  I wouldn’t lie to you!)  The Hubby is on the fence about this one, but I dig it.  I was really, really, really hoping that it would turn out something like Chipotle’s carnitas, but sadly it didn’t reach those mythical heights.  But!! It’s a darn good second.  Especially with some cheese and avocado.  Oh and some salsa that I have good reason to believe is the EXACT recipe from a well known restaurant.  I think it’s called Billy’s…or Silly’s….or maybe it’s really Dilly’s…something like that.

Slow-Cooked Carnitas Tacos

2 lbs. of boneless country-style pork ribs or pork shoulder (All I could get my hands on was bone-in shoulder, so I went with 2.75 lbs.) cut into 1.5″ pieces*
2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. ground black pepper
2 tsp. dried Mexican oregano
1/2 large onion, cut into 4 pieces
1 avocado, halved, pitted, sliced
fresh cilantro sprigs
Corn tortillas**

Toss pork in the bowl of a slow cooker with salt, black pepper, and dried oregano to coat.  Place onion pieces atop pork.  Cover slow cooker and cook pork on low setting until meat is very tender and falling apart.  About 6 hours.

Using a slotted spoon, transfer pork to cutting board.  Discard onion pieces.  Using fingers, shred pork.  Transfer carnitas to a platter and place avocado slices, cilantro and any other veggies alongside it.  Serve with tortillas.

*Okay so I totally missed the “cut into 1.5″ pieces” direction until about 5 seconds ago when I typed up the recipe.  I just threw the whole piece of meat in and let it do its thing.  Maybe cutting it up would help it reach the greatness of the Chipotle carnitas. 

**I like flour tortillas, so I used those. 

Billy’s/Dilly’s/Silly’s Salsa


(What can I say?  Red soup doesn’t photograph well with my point-n-click.) 

1 can of Rotel
1 14.5-oz. can of peeled whole tomatoes, plus the juice
1/4 c. diced onion
3/4 tsp. garlic salt
1/2 tsp. cumin
1/4 tsp. sugar

Dump all the ingredients into your food processor and blend until it reaches the consistency you like.  For The Hubby, that would be one step above soup.  Chill and serve.

 

5 Responses to “I’m back!!”

  1. Ooh. Sounds tasty and something my hubby would like.

  2. Maribel922 Says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. i am glad i have more than just one reader!

    These look delicious!

  3. […] 2008 by sweetteaintexas Polly made this recently and it looked soooo good. Her original recipe is here. I was looking for something to make in the Slow Cooker this weekend and this sounded perfect. I […]

  4. Al Says:

    I’m looking for something like Chipotle’s Carnitas as well. Supposedly this is what they use. I’m going to try it today…

    Braised Pork Shoulder with Tomatoes, Cumin, Cloves and Chipotle Peppers

    http://www.nimanranch.com/control/category/~category_id=braisedporkshoulder

  5. […] check out what I did do.  I made some salsa to go with the carnitas and instead of grabbing the ground cumin, I grabbed the ground thyme and threw that into my […]


Leave a Reply

