Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Poker Pastries February 10, 2008

Filed under: Appetizers,Breads,Pork — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 5:20 pm

 

Guys…I gotta say…I am becoming quite the card shark these days.  Last night the Hubby and I hosted a couples poker night and I won first prize–100 smackeroos!!  And what did the Hubby win??  Oh that’d be NADA!  He took 4th place behind me and another chick, which means he will be catching a lot of flack this week.  For some reason he’s got it in his head that the wives don’t really know what we’re doing at the poker table.  First and second are better than fourth right??  Guess he’s the one who’s got a few things to learn.  ;o)

Anyway, Poker Night is always potluck and I really wanted to make The Fantastic Thanksgiving Dish That I Forgot to Photograph.  But Friday night came around and I had zero motivation to get off my bum and cook.  So I ended up going with something considerably easier.  In fact it’s so easy that I almost feel like it can’t be considered a recipe–kinda like you wouldn’t run around giving out instructions for a ham & cheese sandwich .  But everyone loved these so much that I’d share.  They work really well as finger foods or for a casual brunch.

Sausage Crescent Rolls

1 lb. of regular (i.e. not hot or italian) breakfast sausage
1-8 oz. block of cream cheese, softened
2-3 cans of refrigerated crescent rolls

Preheat oven to 350. 

Brown and crumble the sausage in a skillet.  Drain well and return to pan.  Stir in cream cheese and mix until well combined.  Roll out crescent roll dough and separate along perforations.  Spoon 1 tablespoon of sausage mixture onto widest end of each triangle.  Roll triangle from widest end towards the point, twisting and pinching ends to seal off sausage.  Bake on a greased cookie sheet for about 10 minutes or until golden brown.  Slice in half and serve. 

The amount of dough you will need will depend on how much of the sausage mixture you put in each roll.  I usually only use two, but I put a lot of filling in each roll.

 

3 Responses to “Poker Pastries”

  1. Hi nice to see your blog why not drop by my new site….on poker and things….

  2. MC Says:

    ::::drool:::: So glad you posted this recipe. I’ve been dreaming about it. Congrats again on that win!!! What are you going to do w. that hundy?

  3. slightlycheaperthantherapy Says:

    Thanks!! The kate spade outlet in San Marcos is seriously calling my name. :o)

    Oh and I’ll take all the seafood you don’t want on Thursday. If you couldn’t tell, I kinda like the stuff.


Leave a Reply

