Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

IT’S BACON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! January 16, 2008

Filed under: Bacon,Cookies — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 11:23 pm

 

Back in December, as I was perusing Never Bashful With Butter I stumbled upon what might just be the most incredible culinary creation since cheesecake. Bold words for me, I know. CONFESSION: Back in my college days when I drank more than I ate, slept and studied (combined), my girlfriends and I were notorious for stumbling into Whataburger at 2 a.m. desperate for munchies. One of us (usually Cas) would order for the group and when it was my turn to give her my order I’d just shout: BACON!!!!!!! It was my drunk-munchy of choice, apparently. And truth be told it is probably the one thing that keeps me from going completely veggie on days when I begin to think too hard about where exactly my meal came from. While I can completely turn down Cow any day of the week, I cannot say no to the Pig. It is WONDERFUL. Sorry to any veggies out there, but I triple puffy ❤ bacon.

Anyway…back to the real story…See Muffin of NBWB and her husband were discussing how fabulous bacon is, and how virtually everything could be improved by adding it. Salads? Yep! Baked Potatoes? Oh yeah. Burgers? No doubt about it. Breakfast tacos? Bring it! Then the conversation turned to what wouldn’t go so well with bacon. And it was suggested that maybe cookies wouldn’t be so good with bacon. However, lucky for us, Muffin paused and thought, “wait a minute…” And behold *trumpets sounding and angels singing* the Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookie was born.

I gave this recipe a shot on Monday night and oh my gawd. My house never smelled so good. The Hubby and I ate about a half dozen straight out of the oven and then promptly went to bed so as to not eat more. Everyone at the office either loved them, too, or didn’t dis-like them, but couldn’t get passed the idea of bacon in a baked good. But I say go for it, and ENJOY. Because seriously, bacon and chocolate go so deliciously well together.

Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies
(makes ~4 dozen)

1 cup of unsalted butter
2/3 cup packed brown sugar
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon of almond extract
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup white chocolate chips
1 cup dark or semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 cups bacon bits

*An important note- Be sure to use real bacon bits, not Bacos.  Also, you can make your own bacon bits, just make sure you pat down the bacon chunks with paper towels to remove as much extra bacon grease as possible.  It takes about 2lbs of bacon to make 2 cups of bacon bits.

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F.

Beat together the butter, sugars, flavouring and eggs until creamy. In another bowl, sift together the dry ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture and stir together. Dough will be slightly soft. If you want a cakier cookie, add another half cup of flour. Add in chocolate chips and bacon bits. Stir until well integrated. Place dough on a sheet of waxed paper and refrigerate at least an hour. Remove dough from fridge, pinch off 1 1/2 inch pieces of dough and roll into balls. Set dough balls about 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten dough balls slightly with your fingers in the center.

Bake cookies for about 10 minutes, or until the dough starts to turn golden brown. Allow cookies to cool on a cooling rack while you ready the glaze.

*Muffin uses a Maple Cinnamon Glaze with her bacon cookies, but I don’t.  I gave it a shot on one of them and thought the maple over powered the bacon.  If you’d like her recipe click on the link above.

 

One Response to “IT’S BACON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

  1. brilynn Says:

    I can’t believe I haven’t made these yet! This morning I made bacon and chocolate chip pancakes, but cookies are definitely in order…


Leave a Reply

