Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Everyone’s got their favorites. December 19, 2007

Filed under: Cookies — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 8:59 pm

Continuing with my theme of trying something new this year, I decided to put White Chocolate Ginger Chewies in my Christmas goodie bags.  A co-worker of mine makes them every year and they are to die for.  Thankfully she shares her recipes, so I was really excited to bring you a new cookie recipe that I could give out without getting fired.  And then….they fell.  Seriously guys my cookies fell.  I didn’t know that was possible!  But fall they did, and continued to do as I tried to lift them off the cookie sheet.  It was so pathetic that I couldn’t bring myself to photograph them.  They were still quite yummy, so the Hubby and I have been munching on the crumbly remains all week.  No matter how sad they were I couldn’t justify throwing them out.  And, fortunately, I think my expired baking soda was the culprit, so I should be able to reproduce prettier versions in the future.  Be on the lookout!!

However, that discovery did not help out my Christmas bags this year.  So I resorted to an old favorite that I could easily whip up with what I had on hand.  And now that it’s all said and done and the ugly fallen mess of ginger chewies has disappeared, I’m actually glad I ended up with these.  See, they are my Little Bear’s favorites and he is in desperate need of some good home cooking.  (Aside:  LB is my little brother who I used to antagonize because he couldn’t say “bear” when he was a kid.  It always came out “beaaaah,” which at the time was the funniest thing I’d heard in all my 14 years.  I’d walk around and randomly say “little beaaaa-aah!  little beaaa-ah!!” just to annoy him.  He eventually gave up fighting me on it and the nickname Little Bear stuck.)  Anyway, Little Bear started college this year (which, by the way, makes me feel sickeningly old) and on more than one occasion he has lamented the food served at his college cafeteria.  Not that this is an issue for him, really.  I mean the boy has had 12% body fat since he hit puberty, so he could literally eat a side of lard with his bacon and still not feel the effects. 

Nevertheless, I do like to take care of my LB, so I made sure I had an extra dozen or so cookies to send back to school with him.  I thought this was my mom’s recipe for Snickerdoodles, but upon checking allrecipes.com, its almost exactly like one of their versions.  But it really doesn’t matter (at least not to me) because these cookies are the only Snickerdoodle cookies you could ever want.  Evah.  They’re soft and ever-so-slightly sweet with just enough cinnamon not to overpower the “buttery-ness” of the cookie.  There’s not an ounce of butter in this cookie, though, so I’m not exactly sure how they come across buttery.  But does that really matter in the grand scheme of things?  I didn’t think so.

 Snickerdoodles
(From allrecipes.com or maybe my mom…hehehe…”your mom”)

1 cup shortening
1 1/2 cups white sugar
2 eggs
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons white sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
In a medium bowl, cream together the shortening and 1 1/2 cups sugar. Stir in the eggs. Sift together the flour, baking soda, cream of tartar, and salt; stir into the creamed mixture until well blended. In a small bowl, stir together the 2 tablespoons of sugar, and the cinnamon. Roll dough into walnut sized balls, then roll the balls in the cinnamon-sugar. Place them onto an unprepared cookie sheet, two inches apart.
Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven. Don’t over cook these.  You want them to be just a touch “raw” in the center so that they stay soft and chewy when they cool off.  Remove from cookie sheet to cool on parchment paper.

Yields ~55 medium sized cookies

 

 

One Response to “Everyone’s got their favorites.”

  1. Deborah Says:

    I’m sorry the first ones didn’t turn out (they sound really tasty, by the way) but these snickerdoodles look wonderful!


Leave a Reply

