Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Something to cure your saturated fat hangover. December 5, 2007

Filed under: Healthy,Pasta,Veggies,Wine — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 4:16 pm

Thanksgiving was divine this year.  My mom’s house was so full of family members and friends that there were enough distractions to keep any drama from ensuing.  If you’ve ever been to one of my family gatherings, you’ll know this is quite a feat.  I also discovered the secret to really enjoying my family during the holidays is about 3/4 of a bottle of Gamay Rouge from the V. Sattui winery in Napa.  I’ve been “legal” for over 7 years, so the fact that I’m just now figuring this out is a little embarrassing.  But I digress….

On top of the generally happy (read: buzzed) atmosphere, the food was fantastic.  My mom (aka Head Thanksgiving Chef) finally uttered the words I’ve been dying to hear for so many years:  “Why don’t we try some new stuff this year??”  HALLELUJAH!!!!!  So I whipped up two new and fantastic dishes and one new and blah dish.  2 outta 3 ain’t bad, especially considering these people have been eating the same 8-10 things for the last decade or three. 

Unfortunately I have very little to show for my bold efforts because I left my stinking camera at home.  BOOOOOOO!  I haven’t decided if I should post the recipes (which were fantastic, in case you missed that point) with my half-assed photos or not.  We’ll see…

 But on to today’s post.  I decided that the Hubby and I needed to do a bit of detoxing this week after all the saturated fat we consumed last week.  But most of our meals have been repeats until last night.  And I’m so glad I finally have something to share!  A week without blogging makes a pretty sad week for me.  Anyway…this recipe is from the Weight Watchers Recipes for Success 2003 cookbook and I LOVE it.  It’s a veggie dish, but I still find it incredibly filling and satisfying.  The Hubby isn’t too fond of meatless meals, so when I make this I usually throw some sauteed chicken or shrimp on top.  I don’t get too fancy with seasoning the meat, because you really, really, really want to taste the sauce on this dish.  The green onions add this surprising zing that you don’t get from the full fat version of alfredo sauce.  Plus one cup of this (without meat) is under 300 calories.  Yay for yummy “detoxing”!

WW Vegetable Alfredo
(ever so slightly modified) 

2 qt. water
6 oz. uncooked egg noodles
1 (16 oz) package frozen broccoli, cauliflower and carrots
1/2 c. of tub-style reduced fat cream cheese
1/4 c. reduced fat sour cream
2 T fat free milk
1 tsp. salt
1 glove of garlic, minced
1/4 c. finely chopped green onions
1/4 c. grated fresh parmesan
Black pepper to taste

Bring water to a boil in a large pot.  Add noodles and cook 8 minutes.  Add frozen veggies and cook 3 minutes or until tender-crisp.  Drain.

While noodles are cooking, add cream cheese and next 5 ingredients to a food processor.  Process until smooth. 

Put drained veggies and noodles in a large bowl. Pour cream cheese mixture over top and mix gently.  Sprinkle with parmesan and black pepper.

 

One Response to “Something to cure your saturated fat hangover.”

  1. B Says:

    looks good


Leave a Reply

