Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A throwback to my childhood. November 2, 2007

Filed under: Fast Dinner — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 1:50 am

 

There are always a handful of dishes that instantly take us back to the days of cartoons, 3:30 “quitting” times and someone else doing the cooking.  The funny thing about childhood food is that no matter what your mom (or maybe dad) served you, it was usually the best thing ever.  Excluding vegetables, of course.  And regardless of the complexity (or lack thereof) these dishes continue to hold places on our list of favorite foods.  Example:  My mom used to smother (and when I say smother, I mean slathering past the point of good sense) her spaghetti noodles in butter (and it wasn’t even real butter!!) before topping them with her meat sauce.  These days I much prefer the lighter flavor of olive oil for my Italian food (for both pasta and bread), but oh good god do the days of greasy spaghetti make me drool!! 

For as much of a calorie fest as my mom’s cooking was, every now and again I have to revisit these old childhood favorites.  So I decided to try a slimmed-down version of her Beef Stroganoff.  I remember her making her it pretty regularly and after pulling this recipe out of the back of my book I know why.  This has got to be one of the easiest, quickest dinners I’ve made in ages.  It seriously took me less than 20 minutes to get it from the packaging to the table.  And even though I’ve tweaked it to be a lot lighter, it still tastes fantastic.

“Beef” Stroganoff

1 package (usually just over a pound) of 93/7 ground turkey
2 cubes of beef bullion dissolved in about 3 T of warm water
Onion Powder
Garlic Powder
Lowry’s Season Salt
Pepper
2 cans of reduced fat, low sodium cream of mushroom soup
1-8 oz. can of sliced mushrooms, drained
1-8 oz. container of light sour cream
6-8 oz. of No Yolk egg noodles, cooked without fat or salt

A about a half hour before dinner, start soaking your bullion in the water.  A lot of it will dissolve on its own, and the rest will be so soft enough to easily break apart with the back side of a spoon.

In a large skillet over medium high heat, add ground turkey, dissolved bullion, onion powder, garlic powder, Lowry’s and pepper.  Add the spices to suit your own tastes.  The Hubby and I are big fans of garlic, so I go heavy on that (maybe 3/4-1 tsp.), light on the salt (1/4 tsp.?), and somewhere in between on the onion and pepper (1/2 tsp.?).  Brown the meat, trying not to crumble the turkey up too much.  You’ll want bigger chunks, rather than small crumbles.  Add cream of mushroom soup and mushrooms, and simmer over medium-low heat until smooth–maybe 5 minutes or so.  Remove from heat and stir in sour cream until well blended.  Serve over egg noodles.

*I usually serve this with a good portion of broccoli, so one ounce of pasta per person is enough for us. 

 

4 Responses to “A throwback to my childhood.”

  1. BC Says:

    Welcome to the Daring Bakers! I love the name of your blog.

  2. MC Says:

    Yum! This was a favorite of mine as a kid. Definitely going to try your Y2K version.

  3. sweetteaintexas Says:

    Oh Froggiana, this looks so yummy! It’s going on my menu for this week.

  4. […] 23, 2008 by sweetteaintexas This one comes from Polly’s site. Here’s the link to the original recipe. This is such a good happy husband meal because it’s something he’s had time & time […]


Leave a Reply

