Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

More Psuedo-Fried Stuff October 12, 2007

Filed under: Chinese Food,Fast Dinner,Seafood — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 3:06 am

 

My sophomore year in high school  I started having these bizarre vertigo spells that would last for days on end.  I couldn’t do anything, but lay in bed and try not to get sick from the nausea.  Needless to say, this was pretty alarming for me and my mom.  So I spent the better part of a month in and out of doctors’ offices going through test after test trying to figure out what was wrong.  Nothing physical could be found, so I was ordered to record everything I ate or drank every day for a month.  After doing this I learned that I have a severe MSG allergy. To my teenage mind, this absolutely sucked, because I loved Chinese food.  Nevermind that I didn’t have some horrible disease.  No I was crushed because my one of my favorite dishes, fried rice, was forever taken from me.

In college, when I really started to learn to cook, I started experimenting with Chinese dishes.  Nothing came close to the fried rice and egg rolls I had enjoyed as a kid.  Then a few years ago I discovered the Weight Watchers Annual Recipes for Success cookbooks and I found the fried rice I had been trying to recreate.  And it was even a healthy recipe!  You can imagine how elated I was upon finding this.  I think I ate fried rice for a week solid. 

Even now I still make this version (that I’ve modified from the original WW recipe) once every few weeks or so, because the Hubby and I love it so much.  Not to mention it’s very easy to prepare and quick.  Let the Cuisi do the chopping for you and you’ve got a tasty, healthy meal in under 30 minutes.  If you’re not a fan of shrimp, I’m sure chopped chicken or pork would work just as well.

Shrimp “Fried” Rice

2 tsp. peanut oil
2 T thinly sliced shallots (about 1 large)
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 lb. peeled and deveined shrimp
4 c. cook jasmine rice
1 c. fully cooked refrigerated shelled edamame
1/2-3/4 c. shredded carrots
1/3 c. chopped green onions
1/4 tsp. black pepper
3 T low sodium soy sauce
2 T dark sesame oil

Heat oil in a large wok over medium-high heat.  Add shallots and egg and stir-fry about 30 seconds, or until egg is soft-scrambled.  Add shrimp and stir-fry 2 to 3 minutes or until pink.  Add rice, edamame, carrots, green onions and pepper and cook for one minute, mixing well.  Add soy sauce and sesame oil, stirring well.

 

Leave a Reply

