Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lots of oven fryin’ this week. October 4, 2007

Filed under: Chicken,Fast Dinner,Kid Friendly — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 4:56 pm

 

Being a southern girl, I can’t seem to shake my love of all things fried.  Fried fish, fried chicken, french fries, fried pies even fried Snickers.  You fry it and I’ll most likely eat it.

 But, as you all know or can at least guess, I am on an endless quest to have less of me to love, so I have to keep my fried cravings in check.   At least until I can come up with an oven-fried alternative. 

Last night’s dinner, another one of my favorite quickies, fell into this category.  It’s an adaptation from a Cooking Light chicken tenders recipe I found in my Best of Cooking Light cookbook and these actually do come awfully close to being as good (if not better) than the original fried chicken tenders.  They’re not nearly as heavy and greasy, and don’t leave you feeling like you’ve eaten a brick.  Walking away from a table feeling satiated, but not stuffed is always a good thing in my book regardless of whether or not you’re counting calories.

 Oven Fried Chicken Tenders

1 1/2 lbs. of chicken breasts, cut into strips
1/2 c. low fat buttermilk
2 c. coarsley crushed cornflakes
1/2 c. bread crumbs
1/4 tsp. onion powder
3/4 tsp. paprika
1/4 tsp. dried thyme
1/4 tsp. black pepper
Cooking spray.

Preheat oven to 400F.  Put pan in the oven while it heats. 

Combine chicken and buttermilk in a shallow dish.  Cover and chill 15 minutes.  Discard liquid.

Combine cornflakes and next 5 ingredients in a large zipper bag.  Add 4 pieces of chicken at a time.  Seal bag and shake to coat.  Repeat with remaining chicken until done.  Remove pan from oven, coat with cooking spray and add chicken.  Spray tops of chicken tenders and return to oven.  Bake for 4 minutes, then flip chicken tenders and cook an additional 4 minutes or until done. 

 

2 Responses to “Lots of oven fryin’ this week.”

  1. BBBBD Says:

    Could you start sending samples to my house., so I can put them to the tast test.
    Also mandy has a new one for you to try.

  2. slightlycheaperthantherapy Says:

    Rob said he’ll take an extra bite or two for ya. :o)


Leave a Reply

