Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Family, food and gluttony September 24, 2007

Filed under: Pasta,Seafood — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 3:50 pm

I consider myself one of the lucky few who actually likes their in-laws.  Perhaps it’s because I’ve only known them a few years, or maybe it’s because they  live several states away and I only see them on occasion.  But I doubt it.  They’re all genuinely sweet, fun folks and I always look forward to seeing them when they (or we) visit. 

However, I do have to admit that I have my own selfish reasons for looking forward to their visits, especially my father in law.  See, he and I have almost identical tastes in food.  So when he’s in town it gives me an excuse to indulge in all of my favorite dishes because they just happen to be his favorites too.  He and I have been known to eat our way through three, yes three, pounds of mussels.  I can’t even begin to tell you how much coffee we’ve guzzled when he’s in town.  And my chocolate cake?  Fughedaboudit.  That stuff’s perfect for breakfast!  It’s like he’s my culinary partner in crime and I have complete license to eat the most diet-wrecking things on the planet. 

He and my sister in law and my niece (why don’t we say niece in law?  so weird…anyway…) have been in town since Friday, and boy howdy have I been cooking.  Last night I made a new found favorite and let me tell you, everyone loved it.  Only by some miracle of miracles I had just enough leftover for lunch today.  It is, of course, an adaptation from a Cooking Light recipe.  These guys are such a wealth of healthy and yummy food, that I just can’t resist going back to them again and again.  What’s more most of their food presents incredibly well, and this dish is no exception.  This would work perfectly when you’re trying to impress guests or romancing your main squeeze. 

Pistachio Pesto Pasta

 Shrimp & Scallops of Pesto Pasta

Shrimp and Scallops with Pistachio Pesto Pasta 

1 c. chopped fresh parsley
3 tablespoons chopped pistachios
1 tsp. lemon zest
1/4 tsp. ground cumin
1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
1/8 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. paprika
2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
1 1/4 tsp. olive oil
little less than 1/2 lb. of sea scallops
little less than 1/2 lb. of shrimp
1/4 cup of all-purpose flour
1/8 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. freshly ground pepper
2 tsp. olive oil
2 ounces of uncooked angel hair pasta

Combine first 9 ingredients in a food processor and process till smooth.  You will have to scrape down the sides a few times. 

Cook pasta according to package directions and set aside. 

Combine scallops, shrimp, flour, salt and pepper in a zip top bag.  Shake until shrimp and scallops are completely coated. 

Heat oil in a skillet on medium-high heat.  Add seafood and cook 3 1/2 minutes on each side.  Do not stir. 

Add pistachio pesto to pasta and stir well to coat.  This will take a bit of time and elbow grease. 

Top pasta with shrimp and scallops and serve immediately.

Serves 2

 

Leave a Reply

