Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Mmm…dressing. September 19, 2007

Filed under: Grains,holiday foods — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 3:16 am

Like Peabody over at Culinary Concoctions by Peabody, I have been willing fall to come.  Not necessarily because I long for the cooler weather (that won’t be here till November) or the changing leaves (that won’t ever be here), no this year for some inexplicable reason I am completely fired up about the holidays.  I’ve been scoping out the new Halloween decor this year, trying to figure out how we can incorporate it into our yard decorating scheme.  And when it gets slow at the office, I’ve been day dreaming about going back to the Christmas tree farm in the next town over and cutting down our own tree again.  In about another month I’ll probably be humming “fa luh-la-la la-la, luh-la-la-la” under my breath. 

So in a blatant attempt to hurry the holiday season along, last night I made my mom’s traditional Thanksgiving dressing, or stuffing as it is referred to in other parts of the world.  Ours is dressing because I absolutely refuse to handle a whole bird carcass, let alone shove stuff up its butt.  And besides that, I don’t know any born-and-bred southerner that actually stuffs their bird.

Anyway, this turned out really well, except that I misread the directions and covered the whole thing when it went into the oven, which meant that it came out moister than I wanted.

And for the record, this did absolutely nothing to sway fall.  When I went out for lunch today it was muggy and raining.  Once the rain stopped it smelled like a freakin’ greenhouse. 

Dressing...

Thanksgiving Dressing

3 bags of cornbread mix, prepared
2 tablespoons of dried sage
2 tsp. poultry seasoning
salt & pepper to taste
1/2 of a medium sized onion, diced
1/2 c. butter
3 (14 oz.) cans of chicken broth
3 eggs, raw
3 hardboiled eggs, diced

Prepare cornbread according to package.  Allow to cool to the touch and then crumble well.  While cornbread is cooling, saute onions in butter until soft.  Preheat oven to 350.  Add sage, poultry seasoning, salt and pepper to crumbled cornbread.  Add broth, one can at a time, stirring well after each addition.  There should be a scant amount of liquid standing just above the cornbread in some spots.  Add raw eggs and stir well.  Add hardboiled eggs and mix.  Bake uncovered for 1-1 1/2 hours. 

*When I make this at any time other than the holidays, I usually bury 5or 6 chicken breasts into the dressing right before it goes into the oven.  The chicken comes out incredibly juicy and you’ve got a complete meal in one dish.

 

2 Responses to “Mmm…dressing.”

  1. peabody Says:

    Oh I love dressing! It is my favorite part of Thanksgiving dinner.

  2. Aimee Says:

    That recipe is almost an exact duplicate of our family stuffing! And it is delish! Now I am craving Thanksgiving food… Mmmmm


Leave a Reply

