Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tastes Like Jr. High August 26, 2007

Filed under: Cheese,Pasta — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 2:20 am

I think developed my love of all things cheese between 6th and 8th grades.  Most nights, if left to my own devices, I’d have chips and queso, grilled cheese or mac & cheese for dinner.  How I managed not to enter high school as an akward, seriously overweight teen is beyond me.  If I were to eat like this now, you’d have to grease doors to get me through them.  These days if I’m craving some comforting mac & cheese, I check my guilt at the door and dig into the full fat versions.  But now, thanks again to Cooking Light, I have found a lower fat recipe that is delish.  I’m a mac & cheese purist, so I omitted some of the jazz-it-up ingredients.  It very well could be mindblowing with these additions, but I’ll leave that for someone else to discover.

Creamy Stove-Top Macaroni & Chese (from Cooking Light)

4 c. uncooked medium elbow macaroni
3 T all-purpose flower
1 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. black pepper
2 1/4 c. fat free milk
1/4 c. (2 oz.) 1/3 less fat cream cheese, softened
2 tsp. Dijon mustard (omitted from my version)
2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce (omitted from my version)
1/2 tsp. minced garlic (omitted from my version)
1 1/4 c. (5 oz.) shredded reduced fat cheddar cheese

Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat.  Drain and set aside.
While pasta cooks, place flour, salt and pepper in a large saucepan.  Add milk, stirring with a whisk until well blended.  Drop cream cheese by teaspoonfuls into milk mixture, and bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring constantly.  Reduce heat and simmer for 2 minutes or until thick and cream cheese melts, stirring occassionally.  Stir in mustard, Worcestershire and garlic.  Simmer 1 minute.  Remove from heat.  Add cheddar cheese, stirring until the cheese melts.  Combine pasta and cheese sauce in a large bowl.  Toss well. 

Yields 6 (1 1/2 c.) servings.

 Mac & Cheese Sauce

 Mmmmmm….cheesey goodness.

Lighter Mac & Cheese

 

Leave a Reply

