Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Honorable Mention August 26, 2007

Filed under: Meats,Mexican — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 2:02 am

Friday night I decided to give Mexican Night a go.  A few months ago, Friday night meant Ninfas for Rob and I.  While they don’t have the most inspired dishes, the do have pretty darn good strawberry margaritas and that avocado salsa they bring out (for free!) is fantastic.  But somewhere along the way my love of good ritas and dipping sauce got usurped by the desire to have less of me to love.  So we ditched our Mexican Nights in favor of something lighter from my kitchen.  I say mine because Rob rarely does more than make a sandwich or pour a bowl of cereal in it.

 Anyway, this Friday I went for a more interior Mexican than the usual Tex-Mex.  And while I know that food from the interior is, generally, a bit more bland (read: less cheesey) than Tex-Mex, it does have its own unique flavor.  However what I came up with wasn’t very flavorful at all.  Everthing was just sort of “bah”.  The chicken with tomatillo salsa and queso fresco didn’t have much kick to it, and the cilantro lime rice wasn’t very limey or cilantro-ey.  The rice I think I can fix, but I’m honestly not sure what to do with the tomatillo salsa.  I even used roasted hatch chiles for the love of pete.  But this dish photographed soooooooooooooooo well that I had to show it off.  Sometimes you’ve just got to admire a pretty package. 

 Chicken with Tomatillo Salsa and Queso Fresco

 Further evidence that it is my kitchen.  This is Rob’s version of helping me with dinner:

 refried black beans

 If you’d like to give this recipe a go, let me know and I’ll be happy to pass it on. 

 

Leave a Reply

