Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ketchup August 24, 2007

Filed under: Pasta — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 5:02 pm

Since this week was crazy-go-nuts with the baseball game and book club, I slacked more than I intended to on the inaugural week of Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy.  But in an attempt to absolve myself of my over-commitment sins, I’m trying to catch up on all the yumminess that came out of my kitchen this week.

This recipe came from one of my many stacks of Cooking Light magazines, and it was YUM-EEEY!  Yes, so yummy it deserved two syllables.  This wasn’t the lightest thing that ever graced my table, but it was a terrific substitute for the horribly fattening pasta alfredo concoctions that I am so fond of.  And if that wasn’t enough, this dish has the potential to be extremely flexible.  You could come up with a ton of variations just by using whatever veggies and pasta you’ve got on hand.

Pasta

 Shrimp, Broccoli and Sundried Tomato Pasta

1/2 c. sundried tomatoes (not packed in oil), julienned
3 c. farfella (bow tie pasta)
1 lb. shrimp
1 clove of minced garlic
1/2 c. of reduced fat cream cheese
1/2 c. chicken broth
1 1/2 c. broccoli florets
1/2 tsp. dried basil
1/4 c. parmesan cheese
cooking spray

If your tomatoes aren’t soft and pliable, soak them in boiling water (removed from heat) for about 10 minutes or until they soften up.  While this is going on, cook the pasta. 

Heat medium sized skillet coated in cooking spray over medium-high heat.  Add garlic and sautee for 30 seconds.  Add shrimp and cook for about 3 or 4 minutes or until done.  Add the broth and cream cheese, stirring as the cheese melts.  Bring to a boil, then simmer for 4 minutes.  Add basil, tomatoes and broccoli and cook till thoroughly heated.  Top with parmesan cheese.

Serves 4 (2 c. servings)

*I adapted this a bit by using Barilla Plus corkscrew pasta (high in protein, fiber and Omega 3’s, but without the consistency of wheat pasta) and asiago cheese, because it’s what I had.  Next time I’ll definitely go with the parmesan, as the asiago seemed a bit off.  Also, I really wanted to add pine nuts to the mix, but I forgot to pick them up at the store. 

Next time, I think I’ll add some mushrooms, pine nuts and swap the basil for italian seasoning.  Roasted red bell peppers might also be interesting in this dish too. 

 

Leave a Reply

