Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whole lotta bakin’ goin’ on August 20, 2007

Filed under: Cakes,Cookies,Desserts — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 8:19 pm

Every year my office holds one or two weeks worth of events to benefit the United Way.  I usually only get involved with the silent auction, but this year they decided to include a bake sale.  Since I tend to pride myself on my baking skills, this seemed like a terrific way to get more involved this year.  

My contributions are two of my favorite recipes: 

Lemon Blueberry Bundt Cake

Lemon Blueberry Bundt Cake

This is a better-for-you version that Cooking Light put out two years ago in their annual “best of”, and it’s so well done that you don’t even miss the superfluous fat and calories that get cut.  The lemon-berry, sweet-tart combination makes this light, but seriously satisfying all at once.  I am a huge fan of citrus and berries, so I make this one just about any chance I get.  Our wedding cake, which was out of this world, was lemon and raspberry with a traditional white cake.  Maybe next time I make this I’ll sub raspberries for the blueberries.  Mmmm…I kinda wish I’d thought of this earlier today!

Cake:

Cooking Spray
2 T granulated sugar
3 c. of all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp. of baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 3/4 c. granulated sugar
1/4 c. Land O Lakes Sweet Cream Butter
1 T grated lemon rind
4 large eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 (16 oz) carton of reduced fat sour cream
2 c. fresh blueberries

Glaze:

1 c. powdered sugar
2 T fresh lemon juice

Preheat oven to 350. To prepare cake, coat a 12-cup bundt pan with cooking spray; Dust with 2 T granulated sugar. Set aside. Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups and level with a knife. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt, stirring with a whisk. Place 1 3/4 c. granulated sugar, butter and rind in a large bowl. Beat with mixer at medium speed until well blended (about 2 mins.). Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition (about 4 mins. total). Beat in vanilla and sour cream. Add flour mixture. Beat at medium speed just until combined. Gently fold in blueberries. Spoon batter into prepared pan. Bake at 350 for 1 hour or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Remove from oven and cover top with foil. Cool in pan for 15-20 minutes. Remove from pan and continue cooling on wire rack.
To prepare glaze, combine powdered sugar and lemon juice, stirring well with a whisk. Drizzle over cooled cake. Yields 16 servings.  If you really want the fat and calorie info, drop me a line and I’ll pass it on.  But isn’t it good enough to know that they are a bit better for you than your average bundt cake?  :o)

*I don’t own a wire rack, so I just let it cool in the pan for a few hours before I glazed this.  Once I used my cover-it-immediately-out-of-the-oven trick, but it was tooooooooooooo heavy the next day.  Day 1 it was superb, though.  So if you make this and it will be consumed within 12 or so hours, the covering trick makes it super duper moist.

Cheesecake Cookies

Cheesecake Cookies

I got these from the lovely author of www.bakingbites.com, and first tried them out last week.  They were so so so so good that I knew I had to share them with the masses at the bake sale.  How could I not?  They’re based on one of my all time favorite things:  cheesecake.  I’d eat cheesecake for breakfast if I thought I could stand the self-inflicted guilt and belly ache.  Alas, my will power is too strong in the morning for straight -up cheesecake, but these little darlings are light and small enough to let me get my daily confection in early, and not feel too terribly bad about it.  

½ cup cream cheese, soft (1/2 block)
½ cup butter, soft (1 stick)
1 cup sugar
1 egg
¼ tsp salt
¼ tsp baking powder
1 cup all purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, beat together butter and cream cheese. Gradually beat in sugar at medium speed until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and salt.  Whisk together baking powder and flour in a small bowl and, mixing by hand or at low speed, add to cream cheese mixture.  Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto prepared baking sheet.

Bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes, until the bottom edge just barely turns brown.

*I usually get about 2 dozen out of these, though the original recipe says you can get 3.

 

2 Responses to “Whole lotta bakin’ goin’ on”

  1. Cheesecake cookies??????? YUMMMM!! I will be making these TONIGHT!! thank you SO SO much for sharing these recipes. The blueberry bundt sounds good, but they don’t call me cheesecake crazy for nuttin LOL

  2. slightlycheaperthantherapy Says:

    You are so welcome! I’m a cheesecake addict myself, so I KNOW you will love these.

    Be sure to check the blog again in the next few days–I ran across a to-die-for cheesecake when we were in NYC this past week.


Leave a Reply

