Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What’s a stick of butter between friends? July 14, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 7:50 pm

(No the cake isn’t lop-sided.  The icing’s just that heavy.)

If you’ve kept up with my on-again off-again blogging (and bless you if you have), then you’ll know that I frequently use my book club as an excuse to make whatever delicious dessert recipe that has crossed my path.  I really shouldn’t, because someone or usually several someones are “watching what they eat.”  I shouldn’t tempt these healthy eaters with fatty, sugary goodness.  No, if I were smart I would take a page out of their books (pun completely intended) and stick to healthful options.  But that is no fun.  At all.  I mean seriously guys, these desserts are begging to be made.  And if I were to make these delicious desserts and keep them at my house…well, let’s just say my rear end would put Mimi to shame.  And that would not be fun for me (or the Hubby).  At all.

So I do what any self-serving baker would do.  I haul my hip-enlarging desserts to someone else’s house!  And really, once we’ve all had a piece, there’s not a lot of leftovers lurking around to seriously sabotage any diets.  Or at least that’s what I tell myself in order to keep a clear conscience.  But ya’ll I really did a few people in at the last meeting. 

See, my week was all crazy-go-nuts, and I didn’t have time to make the cake and ice it the night before the meeting.  I was really worried that if the icing sat for more than 24 hours it would start making the cake soggy.  The solution I came up with was to make the cake on Sunday while I had the time and then ice it Tuesday morning for the meeting later that night.  Not the best option, but it would have to do.  Well, that is the last time I do that.  See in my bleary-eyed state I could have SWORN that 1 stick of butter was 1/4 c.  This recipe called for 1/2 c. so I needed two, right?  You see where I’m going with this.  The good news is the icing ended up tasting great…I mean what wouldn’t with a whole freakin’ cup of butter in it.  But the bad news is the cake was reaaaaaaaaaally bad (for you, not tasting).  I didn’t have the heart to tell my book club buddies at the time, so here’s hoping they don’t read this and ban me from future meetings. 

Lime Soda Cake

1 package of yellow cake mix
1 package of instant coconut pudding
10 oz. of lime soda (Use the Mexican variety if you can find it.  Everything else is full of corn syrup.  Bleh.)
3/4 c. vegetable oil
4 eggs

Frosting
1 1/2 c. sugar
2/3 c. flour
2 egg yolks
1 c. flaky coconut
1/2 c. of butter (in case you missed it that would be ONE stick, but if you have a super metabolism 2 doesn’t screw it up)
15 oz. crushed pineapple in juice, NOT drained (definitely do not use the kind in heavy syrup)

Combine cake mix, pudding mix, lime soda and oil.  Mix well.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition.  Pour into a greased 9×13 pan.  Bake at 350F for 45-50 minutes.  Cover with foil immediately after taking out of the oven and keep sealed until cool or ready to be iced.

For the icing, mix sugar, flour and pineapple in a sauce pan until flour is moistened.  Stir in egg yolks, coconut and butter.  Cook until very thick.  Spread over cake while both are hot.

*If you want to be saucy, add a bit of rum to the icing once it’s finished cooking.

 

2 Responses to “What’s a stick of butter between friends?”

  1. Oh. My. Gosh.
    That looks divine!

  2. MC Says:

    Ate it. Read about it. Checked my backside. Yep, there’s 1/16th of a stick of butter back there.
    Can’t wait for the next one!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.