Slightly Cheaper Than Therapy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s outta my hands. November 4, 2007

Filed under: Cookbooks,Cookies — slightlycheaperthantherapy @ 7:38 pm

 

It must be in the cards.  How else can you explain HEB’s in-store coupon that got me a free can of pumpkin when I bought any variety of Hershey’s chips?  It was like the gods wanted me to make this. 

A few weeks ago I ran across bigfatcookies by Elinor Klivans at our local bookstore (BookPeople).  Early in my baking life I solidified my theory on cookie making:  Go big or go home.  So without even checking out the recipes inside, I knew this cookbook was coming home with me.  After reading through it, I discovered there were at least a dozen recipes I wanted to try.  Some old favorites, made new with a twist and some completely new.  That’s where this weekend’s baking comes in.  The Pumpkin Butterscotch Chip Cookies sounded heavenly, and when I ran across the coupon, I knew it was destiny.  This would be my baking project for Sunday.

And these cookies are very, very good.  I was surprised at how well the pumpkin and butterscotch go together.  The only thing that keeps these cookies from reaching OMFG status is that they’re a bit too cakey for my tastes.  Even the Hubby agreed that they were more like muffin tops than cookies.  I may tinker around a bit with the elements and see if I can come up with something a bit denser.  I think I might add another 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon too, but I’m a big fan of cinnamon.  So until then, I present…

 Pumpkin Butterscotch Chip Cookies

 

2 c. flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
2 eggs
1 c. sugar
1/2 c. vegetable oil (the book specifies canola or corn, but I only had veggie on hand)
1 c. canned pumpkin
1 tsp. vanilla
1 c. butterscotch chips.

Position a rack in the middle of the oven.  Preheat the oven to 325F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and butter the paper.  (I forgot to butter mine, and it came out just fine.)  Stir the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon together in a medium bowl and set aside.  In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat the eggs and sugar until smooth and lightened in color, about 1 min.  ON low speed, mix in the oil, pumpkin and vanilla until blended.  Mix in the flour mixture and mix until just combined.  Mix in the butterscotch chips by hand.

Using an ice cream scoop with a 1/4 c. capacity (or a 1/4 measuring cup), scoop out mounds of dough onto the parchment paper, spacing the cookies at least 2 inches  apart. 

Bake the cookies one sheet at a time until the tops feel firm and a toothpick inserted comes out dry (about 16 minutes).  Cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.  Dust cooled cookies with powdered sugar.  Store in a tightly sealed container for up to 4 days.

The book says you get about 14 cookies, but I only ended up with 13. 

 

6 Responses to “It’s outta my hands.”

  1. Deborah Says:

    These sound wonderful! I would have never thought to put butterscotch chips in a pumpkin cookie!

  2. Those looks so yummy and you didn’t use butter – yeah! Stop by I have a terrific pumpkin pudding that is awesome!

  3. Brilynn Says:

    It was definitely fate…
    And I couldn’t agree more on the Go Big or Go Home philosophy!

  4. Tara Says:

    get outta my brain! :) i’ve been thinking for days what i could make to combine some of the multiple cans of pumpkin and the bag of butterscotch chips i have in my pantry. these will be in the oven tomorrow during my “go to hell” day off from work. lol

  5. slightlycheaperthantherapy Says:

    LOL That’s awesome Tara! I need one of those days soon. Have fun with your baking.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.